1. Home
  2. Administrative Services Bureau
  3. Grants
  4. Fire Management Assistance Grant (FMAG)

Fire Management Assistance Grant (FMAG)

What is FMAG?

FEMA Regional Administrators (RAs have the authority to issue Fire Management Assistance Grant (FMAG) declarations for wildfires that threaten such destruction that would constitute a major disaster. The FMAG Program is separate and distinct from the PA Program. FMAG declaration criteria, eligibility, and other program information are available at Title 44 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)25 Part 204, Fire Management Assistance Grant Program, and in FEMA’s Fire Management Assistance Grant Program Guide (FEMA P-954).

If significant damage occurs as a result of one or more FMAG fire incidents, the Governor or Indian Tribal Chief Executive may subsequently request a Major Disaster Declaration for the fire incident(s). FEMA will evaluate such requests based on damage and costs not covered under the FMAG Program, such as public infrastructure damage. If the President declares a Major Disaster and authorizes the PA Program, FEMA generally funds all of the costs related to those fire incidents under the PA Program for efficiency in administration of assistance and to avoid a duplication of benefits between programs.

Current PA Local Jurisdiction Information

  • Eligibility Details

FEMA provides PA funding to the applicable State, Territorial, or Indian Tribal Government (Recipient). An Indian Tribal Government may elect to be a sub-recipient under a State declaration or request its own declaration and be a Recipient. The Recipient distributes the funds to the appropriate sub-recipient. When a Recipient distributes funds, it is a pass-through entity.

See Public Assistance Program and Policy Guide (PAPPG) V3.1 for additional information.

If a Recipient is interested in managing a disaster, it must specify this in the request for a disaster declaration. FEMA will determine whether the Recipient is capable of managing a disaster.

  • PA Timeline
  • Definitions
    • Recipient: A non-Federal entity that receives a Federal award3directly from a Federal awarding agency to carry out an activity under a Federal
    • Applicant: A non-Federal entity submitting an application to the Recipient for assistance under the Recipient’s Federal
    • Pass-through entity: A non-Federal entity that provides a sub-award to an Applicant to carry out part of a Federal
    • Sub-recipient: An Applicant that receives a sub-award from a pass-through entity to carry out part of a Federal